Whoever said "Getting old isn't for sissies" has my vote for quote of a lifetime. TWIL I have diverticulosis. I learned this because I developed a case of diverticulitis, a very painful inflamation/infection of one or more of the small pouches that develop on your colon with age. The pain sent me to Express Care Tuesday morning, where the diagnosis was first discussed. The only way to confirm this was to get a CT Scan and the only way to get that scan was a) have my PCP order it as an outpatient or b) go to the ER and have them order it. The first problem with a) was that because of the backups in the healthcare system there was no guarantee that I could get a scan in a timely manner. The second problem was that my PCP was off that day (My PCP's office is connected to Express care.) So it was option b) - I steeled myself for a long boring experience and arrived at the ER at 10:15 am. After an hour spent in the waiting room, I was taken for a blood draw and then back to the waiting room. (I should add they did not appear very busy as it was still early in the day.) Finally I was taken back and installed in a cubicle. (I should note here that this was the same day that a certain former POTUS had a date with the NYC DA and if it weren't for current technology I would have been totally out of the loop. My thanks to Seth Abramson for keeping me on top of all that transpired in NY.) It was easily another 2 hours before a PA came in to check my symptoms and explain that he would order a CT scan and if the diagnosis was correct, the usual protocol was a course of antibiotics, although new thinking is that it is not necessary. (So why confuse me with conflicting information?) I managed to convince a nurse that I really needed some sort of hydration and she brought me ice chips - I had not eaten breakfast nor had anything to drink other than a cup of coffee. Finally, I was wheeled off for my scan at 4:45 pm and back in my cubicle by 5 pm. Mercifully, the MD who took over for the PA was speedy with the results and he, being a gentleman closer to my age than the PA's age, told me he would recommend the antibiotics, which made sense to me. I finally left the ER at 5:30 and came home to a dinner and water and I was happy to be home. The pain has abated and I think I'm getting a handle on this. It will mean some changes in diet and life but they will all be good.
But we weren't done with the health news - The SO attended a meeting Friday morning with someone who later that day tested positive for COVID and dutifully notified everyone. Sunday morning SO woke up with stuffiness, a cough, scratchy throat - you get the picture. An at home test indeed showed he was positive so he's been laying low and I'm the one who has been sanitizing and masking and worrying. My big fear is that we will both end up in quarantine. And you never realize how many common touch points you have in a shared home until you have to think about it! I will be testing a bit later and if negative, will run out for a quick trip to get more tests. I'm hoping SO will take the initiative to take himself to the Dr. and get a prescription for Paxlovid so he can clear this as soon as possible.
Quick Update: no Dr. visit but we spent all Tuesday morning in the ER because he fell TWICE in the bathroom last night and cracked 3 ribs. No Paxlovid - contraindicated because of other meds - but some pain meds to help him function/sleep. It's just one thing after another some weeks. And after we got home, while he slept, I did an update with my PCP's office about my issue last week and I also talked to someone from the Maine CDC whose job it is to follow up on COVID cases for their stats. Hoping this is the last time I have to recount all of the past week.
Stay tuned!
Update # 2: As of Weds. am, I am positive although very minor symptoms. Fingers crossed here.

No comments:
Post a Comment