Happy to report the quest for COVID vaccine has finally ended. I was notified by my health network on 2/4 and missed their call on the 8th. Back and forth I went, between Facebook and phone numbers and FINALLY today got a call back and got registered for first thing tomorrow morning for the first of 2 Moderna shots. And they have already scheduled my 2nd shot for next month. I can leave the house now and not worry about missing calls (because they never left a message!). I have to say, my network has not been especially forthcoming with information about what their procedure is for scheduling - what happens if you miss their call? Do you go to the end of the line? Do they call you every day? (Obviously not!) Do they always call from a number that Caller IDs as them or are they using cell phones? (I know one person in another state who received a call about his second appointment from a number that IDed as Spam Risk!!!!)
All good questions but ones I don't need the answer to now.
It appears as if maybe, just maybe, we might be able to participate in craft shows this year. The first 3 on my projected schedule are all outside. The first one has already reduced the number of booths to half their usual amount. Still waiting on that one to see if I make the cut. I will need a new canopy for that but have tucked away some stimulus $$$ for that expense. The next 2 are both United Maine Craftsmen shows so I have little chance of not getting a spot. Then comes the 2 indoor shows. I might add a third, depending on how it all goes. It would be in the Bangor area, a location I've had little exposure in, save the highly-touted UMaine Alumni show that was probably my least successful show ever. I am working slowly on creating new inventory. For someone who is retired, it seems I can find plenty to take me away from the sewing machine some days.
This past weekend we went to Rangeley for a few days. We drove up Thursday afternoon, checked into the Country Club Inn, caught up with Margie, and had a lackluster dinner at the Red Onion as every other place had too long a wait. (Vacation week.) Went skiing on Friday - lovely day, not too cold. Saddleback was crowded but mostly everyone behaved themselves with masks and distancing. I realized quickly that I was not in condition to last the day, even in the South Branch area. A couple of runs, a rest, lunch and one more. Then I discovered that my right ski boot had developed a crack. Imagine that! My 20 year old ski boot was failing! Earlier in the Fall I had tried to get my 20 year old skis tuned and the bindings checked and was told they were obsolete. Hmm, I'm sensing a pattern here. With great sadness and regret, I announce I have given up downhill skiing. The boots will go in the trash or maybe I'll use them as planters in the spring. The skis I might turn into some sort of furniture. I don't know. For now they will reside in their place in the basement along with the replaced cross-country skis from the last decade. So, back to the weekend - We had dinner at the Inn on Friday - salmon for D. and shrimp for me. Steve is such a good chef! All wonderful! Saturday we drove over to Kingfield to check out the Beer Shed, which was a disappointment. It's just a beer store, not a tasting room. Had dinner at a new place in Oquossoc, the Portage Tap House. Pizza was good, D. chicken sandwich was nothing special. Place was loud and crowded with snowmobilers. Eat and run! Sunday was supposed to be another ski day but I opted out and so did D. when he saw the temp - 4 degrees! So we came home to a happy cat and our own beds.
I'm happy I made good on my promise to ski Saddleback again if they came back and they are back in a big big way. It's good to see. I could see myself doing the nordic trails down the mountain while D. downhills. That would be a good day. But not until this COVID thing is gone. It's just too much work now.